Student transporters have end of year celebration

  • June 07, Washington County student transporters gathered at the transportation garage to participate in the 1st Activity Day festivities.  The day began with a welcome from Director Wesley Stokes.  Appreciation remarks were given by School Board member Fred Norman.  Lunch was served which consisted of pork chops, string beans, potatoes, fish and hushpuppies.  Lunch was prepared by the Downing brothers (Ernest, Leslie and Monnie), William Wilkins and Chris Furlough.  Cupcakes were prepared by student transporter Kathy Nelson.

    After lunch the school bus roadeo winners were recognized as well as those who achieved perfect attendance for the second semester.  The roadeo winners were 1st place-David Oliver $75, 2nd –Ronnie Cherry $50, 3rd-Velmaria Coley $25.  Student transporters that achieved perfect attendance were reconized by Odessa Swain, BSIP/TIMS manager.  Those were: Diane Barnes, Miriam Davis, Dianne Moore, Carolyn Nixon, Roberta Rouson, Ida Swain, Paula Swain and Carol Wynn.

    A special award was given in dedication of the late Student Transporter Victoria Johnson.  Victoria drove for the school district for 20+ years and had perfect attendance for many of those years.  She had perfect attendance last year but was unable to drive for summer school.  2 of her daughters, Mika and McKayla and her sister Ella were present at the luncheon.  Mika spoke about the many times that family activities were postponed or cancelled because her mother would not miss a day driving the bus.  She spoke about how much her mother enjoyed driving the bus, helping student get to and from school safely. 

    Student Transporter Ida Swain became the 1st recipient of the Victoria Johnson Perfect Attendance Award.  Ida has had 2 successive years of perfect attendance and 4 of the last 5.   Ida has driven for Washington County Schools for 20+ years at the elementary and middle school level.  She epitomizes our desire for student transporters in the district.  

    Lead transporters (Kathy Nelson-WCMS, Bernice Norman-WCHS, Sharese Brickhouse-CES and Dianne Moore-PES) recognized the student transporters based at their locations and thanked them for another successful year.   

    Technicians William Capehart , Chris Furlough and Jermaine Parker also thank the transporters for their timeliness in reporting bus defects and keeping the buses clean.  All thanked the transporters for a job well done. 

    After the program the transporters enjoyed playing games and fellowshipping with one another, sharing their experiences as a student transporter.